Form of address

It should be noted that the correct form of address for a Knight Bachelor is e.g. 'Sir John Smith' and his wife is 'Lady Smith' (no first name is used, although occasionally ladies place their first name in brackets in less formal lists e.g. 'Lady (Jane) Smith'. 'Jane, Lady Smith' is the normal style for divorced wives of Knights Bachelor). In formal documents the post-nominal 'Kt.' is often adopted by Knights Bachelor who are also peers, baronets or knights of the various statutory orders. Further information on forms of address may be found on the Debretts website

Membership worldwide

As Canada, Australia and New Zealand now have their own Honours Systems, they no longer create Knights Bachelor. Hence the falling number of members in those countries. Knights living in Australia have regular dinners.

Other activities

Receptions after the Annual Service of Dedication and dinners are held regularly. HM The Queen has frequently honoured the Society by her presence at these functions. Also among others, HRH The Princess Royal, HRH The Duchess of Gloucester, HRH Princess Michael of Kent and HRH Princess Alexandra have been the Society's guests. In addition, at the suggestion of Sir Ian MacFarlane, luncheons are held periodically with a well known Knight Bachelor as principal speaker.

The Society in Scotland

In 1989, in order to provide interest in the Society, a division in Scotland was established under the chairmanship of Sir Maxwell Harper Gow. This thrives today under the chairmanship of Sir Michael Hirst and holds an annual Knights' Dinner and Ladies’ Luncheon, raising funds for the Imperial Society and promoting fellowship amongst those and their families north of the Border.





Sir Charles Richard BEAN

Professor Sir Colin Brian BLAKEMORE, FRS


Sir Andrew Nicholas CARTER, OBE

Sir William Nigel Paul CASH, MP

Professor Sir Cary Lynn COOPER, CBE

Sir Barry Stuart DAY, OBE

Sir Daniel Michael Blake DAY-LEWIS

Sir Michael DEEGAN, CBE Professor Sir Thomas Martin DEVINE, OBE FRSE FBA

Sir Philip Graham DILLEY

Sir Michael DIXON

Sir John Ernest DUNFORD, OBE

Professor Sir David Stephen EASTWOOD, DL

Professor Sir David Royden FISH

Sir Robert Anthony FRANCIS, QC

Professor Sir David GREENAWAY, DL

Sir Gerald Edgar GRIMSTONE

Professor Sir Thomas Walter Bannerman KIBBLE, CBE FRS

Sir Jonathan Michael MURPHY, QPM

Sir Derek John MYERS

Sir Professor Michael John OWEN

Professor Sir John Bernard PETHICA, FRS FREng

Sir András SCHIFF

Sir Anthony Francis SELDON

The Right Honourable Sir (Arthur) Nicholas Winston SOAMES, MP

Professor Sir Richard Rustom Kharsedji SORABJI, CBE FBA

Professor Sir David John SPIEGELHALTER, OBE FRS



The Right Honourable Sir Kevin Barron, MP

Professor Sir Adrian Peter Bird, CBE, FRS, FRSE

Professor Sir Richard Blundell, CBE, FBA

Sir Ian Michael Cheshire

Sir Michael Victor Codron, CBE

Sir Paul Collier, CBE

Sir David Nigel Dalton

Sir Roger Michael De Haan, CBE, DL

Sir Michael Roger Gifford

Sir Antony Mark David Gormley, OBE

Sir Michael Griffiths

Sir Peter James Luff, MP

Sir Noel Robert Malcolm, FBA

The Right Honourable Sir Richard Geoffrey James Ottaway, MP

Professor Sir Godfrey Henry Oliver Palmer, OBE

Sir Alan Parker

Professor Sir Peter John Ratcliffe, FRS

Sir Julian Roger Seymour, CBE

Sir Paul Tucker

Sir Craig Tunstall

Sir Michael Wilkins

Sir Mark Worthington



Sir Brendan Barber

Sir Nigel Bogle

Sir David Anthony Carter

Sir Andrew William Dilnot, CBE

Sir Kenneth Archibald Gibson

Professor Sir Malcolm John Grant, CBE

Sir Andrew James Hall

Sir John Robert Hills, CBE

Sir Michael Hintze, AM

Sir Stephen Geoffrey Houghton, CBE

Sir Stephen House, QPM

Sir Anish Mikhail Kapoor, CBE

Professor Sir Peng Tee Khaw

Sir Edward Julian Egerton Leigh, MP

Sir Gregory Michael Gerard Martin

Sir Andrew Charles Mayfield

Professor Sir David Harry Metcalf, CBE

Sir Jonathan Edward Harland Mills, FRSE

Sir Richard Lake Olver

Professor Sir Stephen Patrick O'rahilly, FRS

Sir Howard Hugh Panter

Professor Sir Christopher Antoniou Pissarides, FBA

Sir Anthony Robinson

Sir Anthony Michael Vaughan Salz

Sir David Richard Alexander Scott, CBE

Professor Sir Nigel Richard Shadbolt

Professor Sir Michael Rudolf Stratton, FRS

The Right Honourable Sir Robert Andrew Stunell, OBE, MP

Professor Sir Eric Jackson Thomas



Sir Gerald Acher, CBE, LVO

Sir Rodney Aldridge

Sir Charles Allen, CBE

Sir John Armitt, CBE

Sir Peter Bazalgette

Sir Michael Bear

Professor Sir Stephen Bloom

Sir John Gordon St Clair Buchanan

Professor Sir Simon Donaldson

Sir Herbert Ellis, OBE

Sir Roger Gale, MP

Professor Sir Andre Geim

Sir Geoffrey Hall

Professor Sir Geoffrey Hill

Sir George Iacobescu, CBE

Professor Sir Diarmaid MacCulloch

Professor Sir Konstantin Novoselov

Sir Antonio Pappano

Professor Sir Mark Pepys

Sir Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

Sir David Reid

Sir Paul Ruddock

Sir Robert Russell

Professor Sir John Sissons

Professor Sir Christopher Snowden

Professor Sir Robert Tony Watson, CMG

Sir Andrew Witty



Sir Tony Baldry, MP

Sir Peter Birkett

Sir Robin Bosher

Sir Michael Boyd

Sir Kenneth Branagh

The Rt. Hon. Sir Malcolm Bruce, MP

His Hon Judge Sir Clive Callman

Sir Tony Cunningham

Sir Charles Dunstone

Prof Sir Richard Evans

Sir Peter Fahy

Prof Sir Timothy Gowers

Sir William Haughey

Sir Thomas Hughes-Hallett

Prof Sir Robert Lechler

Prof Sir Jim McDonald

Sir David McVicar

Sir Daniel Moynihan

Sir Brian Pomeroy

The Rt. Hon. Sir George Reid

Prof Sir Michael Sterling

Sir Richard Stilgoe



Professor Sir Roger Boyle, CBE, FRCP

Sir Harry Burns, FRCS, CRCP, FFPH

Sir Henry Cecil

Sir Frank Chapman CEng., FIMechE

Professor Sir Robert Edwards, CBE, FRS

Sir Bruce Forsyth, CBE

Professor Sir Peter Gregson, FREng, FIAE, DL

Sir Anthony Hawkhead, CBE

Sir David Higgins

Sir Edward Lister

Sir Alan Meale, MP

Sir John Peace, DL

Sir Hugh Pelham, FRS

Sir Peter Simpson, OBE

Professor Sir Steven Smith, AcSS

Sir Brian Souter

Sir Graham Watson, MEP

Professor Sir Mark Welland, FRS, FREng, FIET

Sir Paul Williams, OBE, OStJ, DL

Professor Sir Christopher Woodhead

Professor Sir Kent Woods, MD, FRCP



Sir Peter Bottomley

Sir Martin Broughton

Sir Stephen Bubb

Sir David Butler, CBE, OA

Sir Roger Carr

Professor Sir Rory Collins

Sir Vernon Ellis

Sir Peter Ellwood, CBE

Professor Sir Michael Gregory, CBE

Sir Ronald Kerr

Sir Richard Lambert

Professor Sir Robin Murray

Sir David Newbigging, OBE

Professor Sir Keith Porter, FRCS

Sir Anthony Redmond

Sir Alec Reed, CBE

Professor Sir Lewis Ritchie, OBE

Professor Sir Adrian Smith, FRS

Professor Sir Timothy Wilson



Rt Hon Sir Keith Hill

Sir William O'Brien

Rt Hon Sir Ian McCartney



Professor Sir John Beddington, CMG

Councillor Sir Merrick Cockell

Sir Stuart Etherington

Professor Sir Marc Feldmann

Professor Sir Ian Gilmore

Sir Wilson Harris

Sir Ronald Harwood, CBE

Professor Sir Colin Humphreys, CBE

Sir Donald Insall, CBE

Professor Sir Fergus Millar

Sir Robert Murray, CBE

Sir Keith Pearson

Sir Simon Robertson

Professor Sir Peter Rubin

Sir Hugh Stevenson

Sir Denis O'Connor, CBE, QPM